top of page



Minnesota State College Faculty (MSCF) was created by the merger of United Technical Educators (UTCE) and Minnesota Community College Faculty Association (MCCFA) as the exclusive bargaining representative for all technical and community college faculty in Minnesota.[i]


July 1, 1995               

Minnesota State College and Universities (MnSCU) system was established by the Minnesota Legislature. Now known as Minnesota State, the founding legislation merged the seven state universities, 34 technical colleges and 21 community colleges under the MnSCU Board of Trustees. Minnesota State is the largest public system of higher education in Minnesota and the largest in Minnesota.[ii]



Minnesota Legislature established the State Junior College Board, later succeeded by the Community College Board in 1973. The legislation effectively created Minnesota’s system of state-oriented junior colleges.[iii]



First public junior college opened in Minnesota by the Cloquet School District. Public junior colleges were later called “community colleges.”[iv]



bottom of page